The Bishop Erazm Ciołek Palace remembers well the golden era of the renaissance artists. Built in 1501-1503 for Erazm Ciołek, diplomat, humanist and the patron of artists, considerably contributed to the development of the local art. Ciołek was the Bishop of Płock and the secretary of King Alexander Jagiellon.
In 1996, the building was transferred to the National Museum in Krakow, which initiated the process of bringing this place back its former glory. Between 1999 and 2006, the edifice was extensively restored. 2007 was the year of the opening of two permanent galleries showing the collections of the National Museum in Krakow. The first floor comprises exhibition titled Art of Old Poland. 12th - 18th Centuries, which gathers Polish works of art from the Medieval Times to Baroque periods. On the ground floor, visitors can see the exhibition titled Orthodox Art of the Old Polish Republic. The attraction is located next to The Archdiocese Museum, on Kanonicza street 17.